03
Mar
11

Help, my nightstand is empty!

I just caught up on one of my favorite author’s series and after a long day, I laid down, reached for the book on the nightstand and froze.  Nothing. My kindle is loaded with projects to do…work. So where is my fun read? Lost in the stacks and files of my to do list read. So I ask you what do you read and how do you rate the read?  What stands at the top of your list.

For instance, My dear hubby, when he reads you know its good because he will go out and acquire the book in both English and Spanish. One of my closes friends will do the same but in English and Hebrew.  And typically, the top set of bilingual books will be incredible stories worth the multiple prints. 

Me… I’ll read a book and if I find I have read it twice, if I hadn’t bought it myself, I will. So my personal library is of my favorite authors and series. I love paranormal, fantasy, romance, thrillers, suspense… I can enjoy horror but at certain times and in little doses.  Non-fiction, my quota are about two for pleasure a year.  Anyway, what’s on your nightstand? Anything good, top rated? Post a comment, because I’m desperate for a top rated read.

And while I am waiting to read something new, I’ll be fingers to the keyboard working on my current MS.

Happy Typing.

4 Responses to “Help, my nightstand is empty!”


  1. March 3, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    Oh, I’m floundering in this area right now. I haven’t read anything that’s knocked my socks off recently. Every night I pore through different categories on Amazon hoping something will catch my eye 🙂

    Spent today chaperoning a field trip which means tonight I’ll be too tired to even search for a good book!!!!

    -Rita

    • March 3, 2011 at 4:20 pm

      I know, it’s hard, and I’m really in reading mode, last week alone I read six books. It feels like a reading binge and I have no books to read for fun. Too bad it wasn’t chocolate right?! 🙂

  2. 3 Marene James
    March 5, 2011 at 12:15 pm

    Deb,

    I know exactly how you feel, finding a good book to pass the time can be trying. I am at the stage in my life that if the book is not good and I have to reread the section i just read becasue it was so boring, I actually just give the book away. I used to finish every book I started, not anymore. You know that I have been reading historical books…..Not historical novels but really old books in my library. Out of the five I’ve read so far, The Judgement House by Gilbert Parker, was the best. The book was Published 1913. My book has an inscripiton that says it was a prize in the Harper’s Bazar’s Needlework Contest June 1913 for Marie C Wells. The book is a romance but not your typical twenty first century romance of today. For me it was a challenging but interesting read. I have to say that I enjoy it.

    Rene

    • March 8, 2011 at 8:28 pm

      Love ya Rene!
      I’ll have to see if I have that one. Are you and Isa falling into the same pattern… she was reading Little Women. 🙂 Currently, I’m reading the Altantis Series by Bob Mayer and getting into it. It’s not a romance more like military fiction thriller sci-fi. But it makes me think, really think about what I’m reading and it’s fun. Go figure, mental arobics and enjoyment all roll into one. I’ll put The Judgment House by Gilbert Parker on my read list.


Leave a Reply

March 2011
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Archives

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other followers

Deb’s Manic Writer’s Mood

Deb's mood is.....


